Board index » Software and modding » Gaming

Post subject: DoD:S Beta tester Interview: Locomotion
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 1:10 am 
Techie
Techie

Ive completed my first interview with a dod:s beta tester see below

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locomotion
Hi. My name is Gary, I'm 33, live in Scotland and I've been a Firefighter for 15 years.

I've been involved in the Day of Defeat scene for many years now, and I am a Moderator on the Official Valve DoD Forums, as Loco. Been in a few Clans over the years, and I'm currently a member of one of the UK's longest running DoD Clans, [TFS] The Firing Squad, along with Blitzthose.

I was fortunate enough to be invited to Beta-test the last few versions of DoD, and have been lucky enough to be invited back for the testing of DoD:Source ( must have done something right the last couple of times...!! ).

Q) What would you say is the most exciting aspect of dod on the new engine?

It's kinda hard to pin down one particular aspect to be quite honest. Sounds a bit of a strange answer, but although the game is familiar in the way it plays, it certainly feels very different. Visuals are much improved, ragdoll physics are a first for DoD, and they look fantastic in application within the game. Sound also deserves a special mention, the ambient sounds are no longer simply playing in a "loop" in the background, what you actually hear, is the audio of battles and firefights elswhere in the map, mixed in with an ambient soundtrack. Hearing is believing!!....It's a vast improvement over the already good sounds in DoD as it is just now. The two maps we are currently playtesting are dod_Avalanche and dod_Flash, and they look superb, particularly Flash, with its long distance "vistas", surrounding the map, of smoke plumes and distant buildings. This is all difficult to sum up in words, I think people are going to be pleased with the results upon its release.

Q) What would you Like to see in dod:s?